The 11th Annual Asian American Literary Awards, Honoring BD Wong and Henry David Hwang

The Asian American Writers’ Workshop in New York City is having their 11th Annual Literary Awards. This year’s event features a public conversation between B.D. Wong and Henry David Hwang, and Oskar Eustis, the Artistic Director of the Public Theater, in honor of the 20th anniversary of M. Butterfly. Wong and Hwang are also to be honored with lifetime achievement awards.

This year’s winners:

Fiction Award Winner — Mohsin Hamid, The Reluctant Fundamentalist (Harcourt)
Nonfiction Award Winner — Vijay Prashad, The Darker Nations (New Press)
Poetry Award Winner — Sun Yung Shin, Skirt Full of Black (Coffee House Press)

The 11th Annual Asian American Literary Awards Ceremony
Monday, December 8, 2008

VIP Reception | 6-7:30 pm at Deutsches Haus at NYU, 42 Washington Mews, NY $10

Awards Ceremony | 7:30-9 pm at Iris and B. Gerald Cantor Film Center at NYU, 36 East 8th Street, New York | $20 members, $30 non-members

My congratulations to the winners. Of the things I miss from my life in New York, being able to drop by the Workshop like I used to in the old days is one of them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s